Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
SDLA Annual Awards
Share |

SDLA Annual Awards

The SDLA Annual Awards are presented each year at conference.  The deadline for 2015 nominations is August 7, 2015.  Please mail your completed forms to the committee chair:

Lynn Klundt 

1207 S. Main St.

Aberdeen, SD 57401

You may email them to

Librarian I New Librarian I Support Staff I Distinguished Service I Trustee I
Friend of the Library I Intellectual Freedom

Librarian of the Year

The Librarian of the Year award recognizes a member of the SD Library Association who has made an outstanding contribution to affect and improve library service in a SD community. The winner must have been active in the library profession in SD for no less than 10 years and have:

  • Shown evidence of personal professional achievement, as well as initiative and creativity
  • Contributed to and participated in the library profession and related fields
  • Focused attention on the status of the librarian in the community
  • Promoted cooperation between types of libraries and their librarians
  • Actively participated in local affairs
  • Currently involved in librarianship
  • Must be a current member of SDLA

Nomination Form I Previous Winners

New Librarian of the Year

The New Librarian of the Year recognizes all of those hard-working librarians who are just getting started in the profession. The New Librarian of the Year is someone who:

Transformed a routine task or an untried idea into imaginative, creative service

  • Projected a dynamic image of the professional librarian into the community and offered that community something which it did not have before
  • Has performed the function of a librarian for a period of not more than 10 years in South Dakota
  • Must be a current member of SDLA

Nomination Form I Previous Winners

Support Staff of the Year

Instituted in 2000, the Support Staff of the Year award recognizes support staff who are making a contribution to advance and strengthen support staff in the library community.

The recipient will:

  • demonstrate excellence in performance in his/her field
  • be active in organizations supporting library issues
  • advance and strengthen the image of library staff
  • demonstrate direct involvement or be focused on Support Staff working in libraries or information centers
  • be judged according to the degree by which the status and work of support staff is improved or enhanced within the library profession

Nomination Form I Previous Winners

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award honors a current SDLA member who has made notable contributions to the library profession or has significantly furthered development of libraries in SD, or has performed exemplary service for an extended period of time. The award was given occasionally by proclamation of the SDLA Executive Board through 1993, when it became a permanent annual award.

Nomination Form I Previous Winners 

Trustee of the Year

This honor is presented each year to a trustee of a public library who has contributed by leadership, work, ideas, community relations or other ways to a significant betterment of library services in that community. The trustee should have given service to the library beyond attendance at board meetings and should be an active patron of his/her library.

Nomination Form I Previous Winners

Friend of the Library

This award is designed to recognize a non-librarian who has made a significant contribution to library development in a South Dakota community. The Friend is someone who has shown initiative, support, and creativity on behalf of a South Dakota library to the betterment of the library and its services.

Nomination Form I Previous Winners

Intellectual Freedom Award

Instituted in 2002, the Intellectual Freedom Award was created:
To recognize an SDLA member or South Dakota resident or group that has exhibited strong support for Intellectual Freedom in the State of SD and has made significant contributions to the enhancement of First Amendment rights.

The recipient will:

  • Be active in supporting Intellectual Freedom in their library, community, or statewide
  • Be active in informing SDLA and the State Library of Intellectual Freedom issues
  • Be an advocate in keeping challenged materials on library shelves
  • Be helpful and supportive to those facing challenges of materials
  • Demonstrate involvement in Intellectual Freedom issues

Nomination Form I Previous Winners

Community Search
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?


3/1/2016 » 9/1/2016
Exhibitors Registration 2016 Annual Conference

9/28/2016 » 9/30/2016
2016 Conference Registration

Quick Links