Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Prairie Bud Nominees & Previous Winners
Share |

Prairie Bud (Grades K-1)

The Prairie Bud Children's Book Award, sponsored by the South Dakota Library Association, is determined by kindergarten through second grade students throughout the state. Children can vote after each book read. For the Prairie Bud, they vote yes or no on whether or not they think  the book should win the award. Prairie Pasque/Prairie Bud committee chair Amanda Jensen.


2018-2019 Prairie Bud Nominees

    • Ada Twist, Scientist by Andrea Beaty
    • Maybe Something Beautiful: How Art Transformed a Neighborhood by F. Isabel Campoy and Theresa Howell
    • Madeline Finn and the Library Dog by Lisa Papp -- WINNER, 2401 votes
    • Quit Calling Me a Monster! by Jory John -- Runner Up, 2277 votes
    • How To Read A Story by Kate Messner
    • Have You Seen Elephant? by David Barrow
    • NanoBots by Chris Gall
    • Fabulous Frogs by Martin Jenkins
    • A Well-Mannered Young Wolf by Jean Leroy
    • The Cow Who Climbed a Tree by Gemma Merino


Previous Prairie Bud Winners

2018-2019 Madeline Fin and the Library Dog by Lisa Papp

2017-2018 Stick and Stone by Beth Ferry

2016-2017 Gaston by Kelly DiPucchio

2015-2016 Outfoxed by Mike Twohy

2014-2015 A is for Musk Ox  by  Erin Cabatingan

2013-2014 Press Here by Herve Tullet

2012-2013  Even Monsters Need Haircuts by Matthew McElligott

2011-2012  Rhyming Dust Bunnies by Jan Thomas

2010-2011  The Fabulous Bouncing Chowder by Peter Brown

2009-2010 Chickens to the Rescue by John Himmelman

2008-2009 I ain't gonna paint no more! by Karen Beaumont; illustrated by David Catrow

2007-2008 Superdog: the Heart of a Hero by Caralyn Buehner; illustrated by Mark Buehner

2006-2007 Diary of a worm by Doreen Cronin

2005-2006 Penny Lee and her TV by Glenn McCoy

2004-2005 Wait! No Paint! by Bruce Whatley

2003-2004 Baby Beebee Bird by Diane Massie

2002-2003 No award winner

2001-2002 Look-Alikes by Joan Steiner

2000-2001 Rotten Teeth by Laura Simms

1999-2000 My Little Sister Ate One Hare by Bill Grossman

1998-1999 Toll-Bridge Troll by Patricia Wolff

Community Search
Sign In


The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »

Quick Links