Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
SDLA Annual Awards
Share |

SDLA Annual Awards


Is there someone that you would like to recognize for making a difference
in the library community?

The SDLA Annual Awards are presented each year at conference.  The six awards offered are:

Librarian of the Year I New Librarian of the Year I Support Staff of the Year 

Distinguished Service Award I Trustee of the Year I Friend of the Library Award 


The deadline for 2020 nominations is August 11th.
The preferred method of submission is the online nomination form. Alternatively you can send your completed forms to the committee chair: Lynn Klundt


Librarian of the Year

Instituted in 1972 to recognize librarians who have made significant contributions to effective and improved library service in a South Dakota community. Candidates for this award must be SDLA members who have had more than ten years of service in the library profession, including at least six years of service within the State and have:

  • Shown evidence of personal professional achievement, as well as initiative and creativity
  • Contributed to and participated in the library profession and related fields
  • Focused attention on the status of the librarian in the community
  • Promoted cooperation between types of libraries and their librarians
  • Actively participated in local affairs
  • Currently involved in librarianship

Online Nomination Form I Printable Nomination Form I Previous Winners

New Librarian of the Year

Instituted in 1983 to recognize beginning librarians who are making an impact upon the quality and role of library service. Candidates for this award will be SDLA members who have five years or less of service within the state or elsewhere but will have: 

  • Transformed a routine task or an untried idea into imaginative, creative service
  • Projected a dynamic image of the professional librarian into the community and offered that community something which it did not have before

Online Nomination Form I Printable Nomination Form I Previous Winners

Support Staff of the Year

Instituted in 2000 to recognize support staff who are making a contribution to advance and strengthen support staff in the library community.

The recipient will:

  • demonstrate excellence in performance in his/her field
  • be active in organizations supporting library issues (i.e. state, regional, and/or national)
  • advance and strengthen the image of library staff
  • demonstrate direct involvement or be focused on Support Staff working in libraries or information centers
  • be judged according to the degree by which the status and work of support staff is improved or enhanced within the library profession

Online Nomination Form I Printable Nomination Form I Previous Winners

Distinguished Service Award

Instituted in 1993 as a permanent award to be given to an SDLA member who has made notable contributions to the library profession or has significantly furthered development of libraries in South Dakota, or has significantly furthered development of libraries in South Dakota, or has performed exemplary service for an extended period of time. In the case of retired individuals, the nominee may be a past member of SDLA. The SDLA Public Relations Committee will determine if there is a deserving recipient for this award.

Online Nomination Form I Printable Nomination Form I Previous Winners

Trustee of the Year

Instituted in 1954 to recognize trustees who have made outstanding contributions to library service in their communities. The award is based on:

  • Years of service on library boards
  • Other library contributions such as library use or promotion
  • Special or unusual library activities attributed to the candidate
  • Community service: clubs, organizations, church, etc.  

Online Nomination Form I Printable Nomination Form I Previous Winners

Friend of the Library

Instituted in 1977 to recognize individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to library development in South Dakota through initiative, support and creativity on behalf of a South Dakota library while having no official connection with a library. Recipients of this award will satisfy the following criteria:

  • Be nominated by any SDLA member
  • Be influential in the development of libraries or services they provide;
  • Be influential in providing funding for library programs, including creative methods such as obtaining special grants, etc.
  • Or in other ways be supportive of libraries.

Online Nomination Form I Printable Nomination Form I Previous Winners

Intellectual Freedom Award (Discontinued 2019)

Instituted in 2002, the Intellectual Freedom Award was created to recognize an SDLA member, South Dakota resident or group that has exhibited strong support for Intellectual Freedom in the State of SD and has made significant contributions to the enhancement of First Amendment rights.

The recipient will:

  • Be active in supporting Intellectual Freedom in their library, community, or statewide
  • Be active in informing SDLA and the State Library of Intellectual Freedom issues
  • Be an advocate in keeping challenged materials on library shelves
  • Be helpful and supportive to those facing challenges of materials
  • Demonstrate involvement in Intellectual Freedom issues

 I Previous Winners

Community Search
Sign In

Quick Links